Best Ever Hummingbird Banana Bread

Best Ever Hummingbird Banana Bread

This Hummingbird Banana Bread is one of the BEST banana bread recipes I’ve tried! Chock-full of bananas, pineapple, pecans and toasted coconut for a supremely moist and flavorful bread that tastes like a classic Hummingbird cake!

Prep Time10minutes mins

Cook Time1hour hr

Total Time1hour hr 10minutes mins

Course: Breakfast

Servings: 6 -8

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup Greek yogurt plain or banana flavored
  • 2 cups mashed bananas about 3-4 small bananas
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 (small 3.4 oz box) instant banana pudding mix (JUST the dry powder)
  • 1 (8 oz) can crushed pineapple drained
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 cup lightly toasted coconut divided

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Liberally grease a 9″ loaf pan with cooking spray. For best results, I like using a light metal loaf pan or a disposable pan as they cook more consistently. Note that your bread may take longer or be cooked inconsistently with a dark loaf pan or glass loaf pan.
  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar with a handheld electric mixer on low speed until fluffy, about 1 minute. Add in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition, followed by the Greek yogurt, bananas, and vanilla extract. Switching to a rubber spatula or wooden spoon, stir in the cinnamon, baking soda, salt, flour, and dry pudding powder into the batter until just barely combined. Do not over-mix, as this leads to tough bread! Gently fold in the pineapple, pecans, and 1/2 cup of the toasted coconut. Batter may still be lumpy, that’s okay!
  • Spread the batter into the prepared loaf pan and smooth out the top. Top the bread with the remaining 1/2 cup toasted coconut.
  • Bake for 30 minutes, then loosely tent a piece of foil over the top of the bread and continue baking for another 30 minutes or until a toothpick or cake skewer inserted near the center comes out clean or with moist, not wet, crumbs. Cool completely before cutting into slices.
  • NOTE: To toast coconut, add the coconut flakes to a dry skillet and toast on medium-low heat for about 5 minutes or until barely toasted. They should have a touch of light golden brown color but should not be darker than that as the coconut will continue to darken in the oven.

Published by:

Reina

CEO of Black Lotus Boutique. In my spare time I write poetry. I have written poetry all my life. My poems have contained some of my innermost feelings to my darkest and desperate to my happiness was and liveliest. I also write music, CD, and movie reviews as well as sports in my spare time for Bay Ragni of Totally Driven Radio. There have been times when I may write and it take me a few moments or several hours or days (rarely). Then I can write from the shortest of poetry to the longest of what would seem like a short story. Poetry and writing has been my life. My thoughts, feelings, and words or what most people have felt or understand because maybe they have felt or been through the same thing in their life. I only hope that I can help or reach someone who can say "Hey that's the same thing that I have felt before" or "I've had these feelings", or "hey there's someone else out there that has been through the same thing I have." You never know what words can do to someone as words can be very powerful. They can make or break you. I am blessed.

Categories Best Ever Recipes, Breads and Muffins, Breakfast, Christmas Recipes, Everyday RecipesLeave a comment

Leave a comment